Home > Archive > Alternative Power sources > October 2006 > [OT] Derek Broughton (was: [OT] Ping Mary Fisher)









You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

 

Author [OT] Derek Broughton (was: [OT] Ping Mary Fisher)
Alan Connor

2006-10-24, 8:25 pm

On uk.environment, in <vfnv04-il.ln1@news.pointerstop.ca>, "Derek Broughton" wrote:

> Path: text.usenetserver.com!out02b.usenetserver.com!news.usenetserver.com!in01.usenetserver.com!news.usenetserver.com!fu-berlin.de!uni-berlin.de!individual.net!not-for-mail


> From: Derek Broughton <news@pointerstop.ca>


Why is someone (supposedly) in Canada using a German NSP? Because
the German NSP carefully guards his anonymity.

Check out:

http://pointerstop.ca

....if you want to see what a flimsy psuedo-identity this really is.

$ whois pointerstop.ca
Status: EXIST
Registrar: DomainsAtCost Corp.

http://domainatcost.ca

Just a domain registration service.

Registrar-no: 45
Registrant-no: 949675
Domaine-no: 949675
Subdomain: pointerstop.ca
Renewal-Date: 2007/03/17
Date-Approved: 2004/03/17
Date-Modified: 2006/03/03

Organization: Pointer Stop Consulting, Inc
Description:
Admin-Name: Derek Broughton
Admin-Title:
Admin-Postal: Pointer Stop Consulting, Inc
3078 Ostrea Lake Rd
Musquodoboit Harbour NS B0J 2L0 Canada

Could easily be an anonymous mail drop. Cost a few bucks
a month. That whole area of Canada (the Maritimes) is
in a serious recession.

Admin-Phone: 9024897833
Admin-Fax:
Admin-Mailbox: d-81475rcqz@usersca3.domainsatcost.ca

Why the hell mail a domain registrar?

Tech-Name: Derek Broughton
Tech-Title:
Tech-Postal: Pointer Stop Consulting, Inc
3078 Ostrea Lake Rd
Musquodoboit Harbour NS B0J 2L0 Canada
Tech-Phone: 9024897833
Tech-Fax:
Tech-Mailbox: d-81475rcqz@usersca3.domainsatcost.ca
NS1-Hostname: ns1.serverforest.com
NS1-Netaddress:
NS2-Hostname: ns2.serverforest.com
NS2-Netaddress:
NS3-Hostname:
NS3-Netaddress:
NS4-Hostname:
NS4-Netaddress:
NS5-Hostname:
NS5-Netaddress:
NS6-Hostname:
NS6-Netaddress:


Looks so incredibly official, doesn't it?

I could have a better website than his and just as convincing a
whois entry up by the end of the day, using any address and name
I wanted.

The Internet is the land of illusions and the above is just
a file on a computer somewhere.

Here's his ISP:

$ host pointerstop.ca
pointerstop.ca A 69.93.217.50

$ whois 69.93.217.50

OrgName: ThePlanet.com Internet Services, Inc.
OrgID: TPCM
Address: 1333 North Stemmons Freeway
Address: Suite 110
City: Dallas
StateProv: TX
PostalCode: 75207
Country: US

ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.theplanet.com:4321

See? That whois server is where the file with 'pointerstop.ca'
is found.

So he's supposedly in Nova Scotia Candada but is using an
ISP in Texas and a newsserver in Germany.

I smell the stink of a _serious_ troll setting up a new psuedo-identity.

> Newsgroups: alt.energy.homepower,uk.environment,sci.environment
> Subject: Re: [OT] Ping Mary Fisher
> Date: Mon, 23 Oct 2006 18:06:39 -0300
> Organization: PointerStop consulting


Sure. You can put anything there.

> Lines: 25
> Message-ID: <vfnv04-il.ln1@news.pointerstop.ca>


Custom MID. Says whatever he wants it to say.

> References: <slrnejngeq.1jl.i3x9mdw@b29x3m.invalid> <453bc5dc$0$29539$4c56ba96@master.news.zetnet.net> <slrnejnnr2.1o1.i3x9mdw@b29x3m.invalid> <453cab90$0$29539$4c56ba96@master.news.zetnet.net> <slrnejq665.1gc.i3x9mdw@b29x3m.invalid> <453d1ac3$1$29541$4

c56ba96@master.news.zetnet.net>
> Mime-Version: 1.0
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
> Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7Bit
> X-Trace: individual.net EIXUU9DHG8SUlG5VmD05OQHl9s6LVlD/pdK/wDaCYnon3JNcCk
> X-Orig-Path: news.pointerstop.ca!news


He's using leafnode, a favorite of trolls(etc.) because it makes
it easy to use multiple newsservers. That header says what he
wants it to say.

> Mail-Copies-To: never


So a "consultant" doesn't want mail?

That's ridiculous.

> User-Agent: KNode/0.10.4


Maybe. You can put anything there. I'd bet he uses slrn. He's
obviously a Usenet pro.

> X-Face: *B#;ocY:Hn?+%^}G)eOe'lPFb'~NYPy~/n7^Z7N:]>$](g5X"$z]@DSglXz8SOz3-5r6&j0.GUVzl:.*_{J"cw3(4e-+74$dZ:rBj/GQA4;0rhSNaG]0w.UahTrw&sh`o_+ly~3*!PhW%5~L9g*_"3)4V>RyiMBG=4hGVJ(.Gn/onlx`"4p>s=j[x


To make this sockpuppet look unique. Pure cosmetics.

> Xref: usenetserver.com alt.energy.homepower:234579 uk.environment:188463 sci.environment:746750
> X-Received-Date: Mon, 23 Oct 2006 17:08:04 EDT (text.usenetserver.com)


Alan

--
http://home.earthlink.net/~alanconnor/contact.html
http://home.earthlink.net/~alanconn...ival/index.html
http://home.earthlink.net/~alanconn...unix/index.html
LinkBot





Other archives available: Cellular phones topics archive | Web Design forum archive | Software help archive | Hardware reviews archive | Programming topics archive

Copyright 2004 - 2008 homeownerschat.com