|
Home > Archive > Electrical code Compliance > August 2005 > DataSheet Search Site....
You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread.
To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to
this thread please [click here]
| Author |
DataSheet Search Site....
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Andrew Gabriel 2005-08-02, 1:21 pm |
| In article <11euoukc2k9tuad@corp.supernews.com>,
help1@sellb-dot-com.no-spam.invalid (datasheet) writes:
> http://www.datasheet4u.com
You might want to get someone to fix that site's MIME-types,
so browsers actually know what to do with the datasheets
they've downloaded.
--
Andrew Gabriel
| |
| phil-news-nospam@ipal.net 2005-08-03, 12:21 am |
| On 02 Aug 2005 15:40:47 GMT Andrew Gabriel <andrew@a17> wrote:
| In article <11euoukc2k9tuad@corp.supernews.com>,
| help1@sellb-dot-com.no-spam.invalid (datasheet) writes:
|> http://www.datasheet4u.com
|
| You might want to get someone to fix that site's MIME-types,
| so browsers actually know what to do with the datasheets
| they've downloaded.
I've found the site also tries to exploit some browsers. This is one
of the worst web sites I have seen. I recommend staying away, even
with strong secure browsers (none are perfect).
--
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
| Phil Howard KA9WGN | http://linuxhomepage.com/ http://ham.org/ |
| (first name) at ipal.net | http://phil.ipal.org/ http://ka9wgn.ham.org/ |
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
| |
| Nobody Here 2005-08-03, 8:21 am |
| On 3 Aug 2005 02:21:37 GMT, phil-news-nospam@ipal.net wrote:
> On 02 Aug 2005 15:40:47 GMT Andrew Gabriel <andrew@a17> wrote:
>
>| In article <11euoukc2k9tuad@corp.supernews.com>,
>| help1@sellb-dot-com.no-spam.invalid (datasheet) writes:
>|> http://www.datasheet4u.com
>|
>| You might want to get someone to fix that site's MIME-types,
>| so browsers actually know what to do with the datasheets
>| they've downloaded.
>
> I've found the site also tries to exploit some browsers. This is one
> of the worst web sites I have seen. I recommend staying away, even
> with strong secure browsers (none are perfect).
Am I missing some sort of point with the site? What's wrong with going
to the manufacturer's website? It's never failed me, or is he trying
to archive old pre-internet data sheets?
--
Nobby
| |
| phil-news-nospam@ipal.net 2005-08-03, 1:21 pm |
| On 03 Aug 2005 11:08:23 GMT Nobody Here <nobby@myhost.invalid> wrote:
| On 3 Aug 2005 02:21:37 GMT, phil-news-nospam@ipal.net wrote:
|> On 02 Aug 2005 15:40:47 GMT Andrew Gabriel <andrew@a17> wrote:
|>
|>| In article <11euoukc2k9tuad@corp.supernews.com>,
|>| help1@sellb-dot-com.no-spam.invalid (datasheet) writes:
|>|> http://www.datasheet4u.com
|>|
|>| You might want to get someone to fix that site's MIME-types,
|>| so browsers actually know what to do with the datasheets
|>| they've downloaded.
|>
|> I've found the site also tries to exploit some browsers. This is one
|> of the worst web sites I have seen. I recommend staying away, even
|> with strong secure browsers (none are perfect).
|
| Am I missing some sort of point with the site? What's wrong with going
| to the manufacturer's website? It's never failed me, or is he trying
| to archive old pre-internet data sheets?
I think he's trying to capture information about those who are looking for
spec sheets, maybe for marketing purposes. The difficulty in finding such
data on manufacturer sites varies greatly; some are easy and some are hard
and a few are impossible. Of course this all depends on how clueful the
sales and marketing people (who, in most companies, have taking over web
site operations or content development and in many have screwed it up).
In the site being spammed, there are some strange things happening with
the programming of the site, and some apparent attempt to gather personal
information. In any case, it is an unsafe site to visit, for now. And,
of course, I would never want to in any way support a spammer.
--
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
| Phil Howard KA9WGN | http://linuxhomepage.com/ http://ham.org/ |
| (first name) at ipal.net | http://phil.ipal.org/ http://ka9wgn.ham.org/ |
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
| |
| Andrew Gabriel 2005-08-03, 2:21 pm |
| In article <dcqmh421udg@news1.newsguy.com>,
phil-news-nospam@ipal.net writes:
> I think he's trying to capture information about those who are looking for
> spec sheets, maybe for marketing purposes. The difficulty in finding such
> data on manufacturer sites varies greatly; some are easy and some are hard
> and a few are impossible. Of course this all depends on how clueful the
My starting point is usually to type the part number in to google.
--
Andrew Gabriel
| |
| Paul E. Bennett 2005-08-03, 3:21 pm |
| phil-news-nospam@ipal.net wrote:
> I think he's trying to capture information about those who are looking for
> spec sheets, maybe for marketing purposes. The difficulty in finding such
> data on manufacturer sites varies greatly; some are easy and some are hard
> and a few are impossible. Of course this all depends on how clueful the
> sales and marketing people (who, in most companies, have taking over web
> site operations or content development and in many have screwed it up).
> In the site being spammed, there are some strange things happening with
> the programming of the site, and some apparent attempt to gather personal
> information. In any case, it is an unsafe site to visit, for now. And,
> of course, I would never want to in any way support a spammer.
To get the manufacturers to revise their site mention the problems that you
have with their site when you call them or they pay you a visit. I have
done so with a number of companies and they have improved their site as a
result.
--
********************************************************************
Paul E. Bennett ....................<email://peb@amleth.demon.co.uk>
Forth based HIDECS Consultancy .....<http://www.amleth.demon.co.uk/>
Mob: +44 (0)7811-639972
Tel: +44 (0)1235-811095
Going Forth Safely ....EBA. http://www.electric-boat-association.org.uk/
********************************************************************
| |
| Paul E. Bennett 2005-08-03, 3:21 pm |
| Andrew Gabriel wrote:
> In article <dcqmh421udg@news1.newsguy.com>,
> phil-news-nospam@ipal.net writes:
>
> My starting point is usually to type the part number in to google.
That usually gets it for me too. However, sometimes you get the bucket
shops who merely list the device and don't have a link to any data.
--
********************************************************************
Paul E. Bennett ....................<email://peb@amleth.demon.co.uk>
Forth based HIDECS Consultancy .....<http://www.amleth.demon.co.uk/>
Mob: +44 (0)7811-639972
Tel: +44 (0)1235-811095
Going Forth Safely ....EBA. http://www.electric-boat-association.org.uk/
********************************************************************
| |
| phil-news-nospam@ipal.net 2005-08-03, 5:21 pm |
| On 03 Aug 2005 16:42:21 GMT Andrew Gabriel <andrew@cucumber.demon.co.uk> wrote:
| In article <dcqmh421udg@news1.newsguy.com>,
| phil-news-nospam@ipal.net writes:
|> I think he's trying to capture information about those who are looking for
|> spec sheets, maybe for marketing purposes. The difficulty in finding such
|> data on manufacturer sites varies greatly; some are easy and some are hard
|> and a few are impossible. Of course this all depends on how clueful the
|
| My starting point is usually to type the part number in to google.
I also use "site:$(domainname) filetype:pdf" to narrow such a search.
But Google doesn't always pick up every document. Maybe its because
of the dynamic nature of some web sites. For example Cutler-Hammer
uses Javascript popups to access their documents, which in fact makes
it harder (until I cracked the scheme and started accessing direct).
--
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
| Phil Howard KA9WGN | http://linuxhomepage.com/ http://ham.org/ |
| (first name) at ipal.net | http://phil.ipal.org/ http://ka9wgn.ham.org/ |
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
| |
| phil-news-nospam@ipal.net 2005-08-03, 5:21 pm |
| On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 18:49:14 +0100 Paul E. Bennett <peb@amleth.demon.co.uk> wrote:
| phil-news-nospam@ipal.net wrote:
|
|> I think he's trying to capture information about those who are looking for
|> spec sheets, maybe for marketing purposes. The difficulty in finding such
|> data on manufacturer sites varies greatly; some are easy and some are hard
|> and a few are impossible. Of course this all depends on how clueful the
|> sales and marketing people (who, in most companies, have taking over web
|> site operations or content development and in many have screwed it up).
|> In the site being spammed, there are some strange things happening with
|> the programming of the site, and some apparent attempt to gather personal
|> information. In any case, it is an unsafe site to visit, for now. And,
|> of course, I would never want to in any way support a spammer.
|
| To get the manufacturers to revise their site mention the problems that you
| have with their site when you call them or they pay you a visit. I have
| done so with a number of companies and they have improved their site as a
| result.
I'll try that more often. It doesn't always work, though. Many times
problems are specific programming bugs and the sales people cannot even
see the bug at all.
--
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
| Phil Howard KA9WGN | http://linuxhomepage.com/ http://ham.org/ |
| (first name) at ipal.net | http://phil.ipal.org/ http://ka9wgn.ham.org/ |
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
|
|
|
|
|